C.A. Cupid arrived in the mail today!

Today I received my very first doll. I ordered this Ever After High doll from Amazon.com for $10 and change. I actually struggled with which doll from this series to purchase first because I wanted to limit myself to one doll, to kind of test the waters to see if doll collecting was really as fun as it looked.

C.A. Cupid Ever After High doll

C.A. Cupid Ever After High doll

I had a hard time getting her out of the box. There were so many little plastic fasteners attached to her and the cardboard – I pretty much destroyed the box (and proceeded to then dump it in the bin).

I love her pink hair.

I love her pink hair.

I was happy that her eye makeup was painted on okay, since I’ve heard that sometimes the paint jobs on the dolls can be a little misplaced. Her hair was super gelled and pretty gummy though, so I decided to give her hair a boil wash 😀 (picking up some lingo from marathoning doll videos on youtube).

My hair dries by the wind beneath my wings.

My hair dries by the wind beneath my wings.

Next time I do her hair, I’m going to try curling it.

C.A. Cupid is actually a huge favorite of mine in the mini web series Ever After High. I love her aesthetic and she has a likable personality. Next to her, the other character whose aesthetics i love is Apple White… her personality kind of ruins it for me though (watch the show… you’ll understand. Also, the show is pretty entertaining!)

Wearing the shrug I made the other night... before I even purchased a doll.

Wearing the shrug I made the other night… before I even purchased a doll.

Making doll clothes is fun!! I like being able to complete crochet projects quickly, and this sweater didn’t take me very long. I used double crochet stitch to make this teeny tiny sweater. It’s actually a miniature version of the one I’m wearing in the photo below.

Crocheted sweater

Crocheted sweater

The pattern is available on the Lion Brand website. The collar is adapted from the collar pattern on All About Ami. I’ve made a few adjustments to the base sweater pattern – Instead of single crochet back loop only, I used treble crochet all the way through. I found that the treble crochet stitch can be worked faster, and it also has more give and drapes better than the SC BLO.

I can’t wait to crochet some more clothes and accessories. :3

Leave a Reply

