Blondie Lockes Repaint Success

I spent the better part of Sunday repainting this doll’s face. I’m super happy with how she turned out! I planned out her face on a blank face chart and this time I tried to incorporate more acrylic paint. Here’s a few things I learned this time around:

  • Spray the face a couple of times before getting to work. The pencils and paints adhere better this way.
  • To get into the crevice for the lips, I dip a tiny brush into water and then into powder chalk pastel. It’s easier getting the watery pigment in there than pencil.
  • Mix your acrylics with some water. It thins the paint a bit and helps it go on smoother
  • Seal atleast twice when done with the repaint.

The one thing that irks me is that the Saran Wrap I had covering her hair actually covered a little bit of her forehead, so I can tell where the sealant stops. Oh well.

And here are the photos!

Before and after:   Mid repaint: I used acrylic paint predominantly on the white parts of her eyes. The color pencils actually show up better on the white acrylic.

  Pretty much done:

  Boil wash and curl (sheet for modesty):

  Completed Blondie (and a shot of her hair):

     

12 thoughts on “Blondie Lockes Repaint Success

  1. I will post pictures. I haven’t had a chance to debox them yet, as I am *seriously* out of display space. I have a Tower o’ Monster High boxes in the corner of my room. I’m hesitant to put them in my living room, as I have one jerky cat who likes to ruin everything. I need more shelving.

    Liked by 1 person

      • My dog doesn’t bother them, or my other cat, just ONE of the cats. I used to have a doll house set up with my tiniest bjd, and she used to wreak havoc, snatching their wigs off and such.

        Like

Leave a Reply

