Crocheting in Miniature – The Donut Edition

I was pretty taken with the donut appliqué pattern that I decided to make tiny ones that would be to scale for my girls.   To make the donuts, I repeated the donut part of the appliqué one more time, and I whip stitched the two donut pieces together on the outer and inner edges. I then added the frosting and the sprinkles. It’s hard to tell with Blythes if something is perfectly to scale. This is owing to how hugely out of proportion their heads are to their 1/6 scale body. I think her head is a similar size to the American girl dolls (in that they can share hats), and if I recall correctly the American Girl is scaled to 1/3. The donuts look pretty good in Finley’s hands though!      

  I found the template for the Krispy Kreme donut box online (thanks Pinterest!). I also found out I’m not great at paper crafts. I didn’t score the folding parts of the box neatly so it came out looking a little sad. Next time.

And now I am off to get some dessert for myself because looking at the donuts has made me hungry. ^^

Edit: forgot to mention what yarn and hook I used! Also, I did one thing different to the pattern.

  • In the beginning of each price, instead of chaining 7, I chained 6.
  • I used a 2.5 mm hook.
  • For the donut, I used Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice in Glamour, and for the frostings I don’t remember what brand they’re from but I purchased them at Michaels and I want to say they’re level 2 acrylic yarns. 
8 thoughts on “Crocheting in Miniature – The Donut Edition

    • Hmmmm hair pins. I just might! I need to find a hairpin small enough and I could probably hot glue the yarn pieces to it ^^. Lol donut cushions. I kind of want to start a blythe room maybe.

      Like

  1. OMG, these donuts (complete with a miniature Krispy Kreme box!) are so cute, and these photos are super adorable! Totally agree that you could do Blythe hair ornaments or hat decorations with these cute little donuts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

