Coloring and Crocheting – Activities for the anxious

I purchased a Jetoy Choo Choo coloring book last month at the anime convention I attended. After seeing another blogger’s coloring book as well as this Huffington Post article (which coincidentally just shows up on my facebook feed, even though it’s been published a year ago), I decided to crack open my own.
IMG_2972

And then I almost closed it, and shelved it again, LOOK AT ALL THE LINES AND THE SMALL SPACES :(. The book itself is super adorable! I love Jetoy Choo Choo cats, and even black and white, this coloring book is really pretty. I actually started coloring the first page and I’ve hardly made a dent in it because of how detailed the drawing is. Coloring is more absorbing than I thought it would be – I guess because it draws your focus to what colors you want to use next, if those colors work with each other, and staying in the lines. I really don’t want to mess up my pretty book, so I must have been concentrating doubly hard. I wasn’t really thinking of much else as I was shading in the page. For me, that’s the mark of a great activity for staving off anxiety. To be honest, I actually got tired from working on the page above, and I went to sleep right after I put everything away (which, is kind of a big deal to me because I usually have trouble falling asleep).

IMG_2970

I also finished crocheting this guy over the weekend! The pattern can be found on this website. I wanted to try making this amigurumi because I was interested in the construction of the bear. This bear doesn’t really have separate parts that need to be stitched together, like most amigurumi. I thought the pattern was relatively simple, though some of the instructions were a bit unclear (I kind of struggled with the ears, because when I made them as per the instructions, they looked a bit funky. In the end, I decided to make the ears as I would normally make bear ears if this were a hat or a different amigurumi bear), ^^ I didn’t have brown yarn, so mine is a polar bear.

3 thoughts on “Coloring and Crocheting – Activities for the anxious

Leave a Reply

