Playing with Miniatures

I decided to update my dolly shelf today. I’ve accumulated some miniature items from Michaels over the past year that have just been sitting in a box. I’m not yet up for creating an entire room, since I’m lacking most of the materials I think I would need. I do plan on moving within a year, and I also expect moving something as delicate as a Blythe room might be problematic. SO! My girls will have to make due with their dolly shelf ^^.

IMG_3385

Currently, my blythes live on one of the top shelves that are built into the wall of my room. I lined the shelf with some contact paper, and I taped up some mini frames onto the wall. I’ve also been meaning to draw something on the mini easel, so I’m glad I got around to doing that today.

IMG_3387

😀 It’s my cat!

I also found something very exciting in my basement!

IMG_3391It’s a jewelry box that plays music and it looks like an armoire! I remember seeing this around back when I was a little kid, and since it wasn’t in use, I asked my mom if I could have it. It now currently houses my own jewelry and trinkets, and is sitting on the doll shelf. I love how to scale it is, and for something that’s nearly 25 years old, it’s in really good condition… and now it is MINE :D. No backsies, mom.

Lastly, my sample Moo cards came in today! They almost look like trading cards.

IMG_3392

I made sample Moo business cards using their promotion – you can order a sample of 10 business cards of your own design for free. I’ve only ever seen business cards by Moo once, and I wasn’t sure this was something I would use for my etsy store. I decided to try ordering the sample first, to see how I feel about them. My order consists of 8 different designs, with the business card being portrait style, rather than the traditional landscape. The finish of the cards are matte (I wish I got some with the glossy finish). I didn’t really have a solid idea of what I would want my hypothetical business cards to look like, so I just picked photos I’ve taken recently that I liked and used them as the design. I also kind of winged it for the writing on the back.

IMG_3393

I’m not entirely happy with the little image on the bottom of the card back. I need to work on a cleaner looking logo for my etsy store. I have some rough sketches of what I might want as a logo, but nothing finalized.

I really like these cards! They’re super cute~. My mom actually took one to use as a bookmark.

In the future, I might include them in packages when I ship out orders. I would definitely recommend Moo cards if you’re in the market for nice business cards. I’m not sure how competitive their prices are, as I haven’t done the research, but in terms of the finished product – the cards are printed on stiff paper, and they feel luxe.

3 thoughts on “Playing with Miniatures

Leave a Reply

