Shiny new things :3

IMG_3617

😀 I got Animal Crossing Happy Home Designer in the mail! I haven’t played it yet, but I plan to on my commute tomorrow… which means farm life (Story of Seasons) may take a back seat for a week or so… along with all the other things I’m supposed to do but keep putting off (oops).

IMG_3615

Also, check out my new hooks! One can never have too many hooks. ^^ I haven’t tried them out yet, but I hope they’re comfortable to use. I’m contemplating looking into crochet hooks with cushions, or more ergonomic hooks because the WIP i’m trying to complete is killing my wrists. I’m currently making this bag to carry my dollies in for Blythe Con:

😀 I could potentially carry a girl in each pocket! My bag is going to be only 2 colors (pastel minty green for the body and cream as an accent. I’m hoping it doesn’t end up looking like a baby bag), and I’m using acrylic yarn and not cotton because it was more cost effective that way. The whole bag is done in single crochet stitches, doubling up the yarn, and using a 4mm hook. Ugh. Single crochet at this scale is the WORST because it takes forever to crochet something as big as a bag. So far, I have 3 out of the 4 sides of the bag done… I still have the one large side to finish, as well as the base of the bag, the handles, and the pockets. I WILL finish this thing by Blythe Con Chicago!

Side note for anyone interested in making this bag:

  • I think, if I were to make this bag again, I would just go for the yarn it specifies in the pattern (Lily’s Sugar and Cream cotton yarn). I do find acrylic easier to work with, but I think I would have preferred a cotton bag over a slightly fuzzy acrylic yarn one. Also, even though the weight of the yarn I bought is the same as the one specified in the pattern, I’m not dealing with the same issues I’ve read about in other people’s comments on Ravelry. Unlike a lot of other crocheters, I’m not finding the double yarn strands difficult to crochet with a 4mm hook. Additionally, I’m also worried that the bag will stretch out too much since it’s made out of acrylic.
  • The next time I make this bag, I might use the half double crochet stitch instead of a single crochet stitch. 😀 And I’ll pick wilder colors!

When it starts looking more like a bag, I’ll update the blog with some progress photos ^^.

2 thoughts on “Shiny new things :3

Leave a Reply

