Weighing in on Scale

😀 Word play.
When it comes to the size of my dolls, scale is very important to me – more important than I realized when I first started collecting.

From a budgeting standpoint, the semi-fiscally responsible me would argue that having different scale dolls means also having to purchase different sized wardrobes. The cost of doll clothes and shoes really adds up quickly! Sometimes I’ll think about the amount I’ve spent on clothes, and realize that I could have purchased a whole new doll. Then I quickly poo-poo on that thought, because having a variety of clothes and shoes to choose from helps me to better enjoy the dolls I have. Also, purchasing a wardrobe that’s sort of one size fits all my dolls helps alleviate the buyer’s remorse.

I think my comfort zone is the 1/6 scale size, because my gateway doll, the Ever After High dolls, and the Neo Blythe doll are 1/6 scale. The larger dolls are also a bit foreign to me. The only time I’ve ever seen a bigger doll in person was at the anime convention I went to, where they had Smart Dolls and Dollfie Dreams on display. Those were 1/3 scale, and I remember thinking they were HUGE! I would feel compelled to seat them on their own chair, and also hang up their entire wardrobe in my closet so they don’t get wrinkled… 

Also, I’m not one for heavy lifting, I can’t imagine how one would travel with such a big doll! Maybe I just need one to understand their awesomeness. I do love seeing photos of these big bjds, and all the details that go into them. There’s also something quite magical of having one that looks so lifelike. I think if I was more of a dedicated writer, and my dolls personified a character in my stories, I would be able to better appreciate a doll to that scale as a source of inspiration. Also, if I was better at sewing, I’d probably love having a big doll that can grandly model my creations.

For dolls smaller than 1/6 scale, the only experience I have is with the sole Middie I owned, Bryn. I’ve since sold her and all of the middie scale clothes and shoes I had.

I want to say that Middies are 1/10 scale? She was super easy to tote around, and adorable in her own right. But I think, if you expect all you expect out of neo from a middie, you’ll find the middie to be a bit lacking. The big reason why I decided to sell her was that I would not reach for her as much as my neos. With my limited number of middie outfits, redressing Bryn wasn’t as fun. Also, surprisingly, the smaller the doll, the harder it is to make flattering to-scale dresses!

In the end, it boiled down to me not wanting to accumulate two sets of clothes.

I haven’t owned any other small scale dolls. Though, I am sorely tempted to buy a Hujoo Nano Freya and Rabi! Since they’re affordable, I wouldn’t feel too worried about doing their faceups myself, and since they’re like baby animals, I think I’d be okay with them Donald Ducking it or Mickey Mousing it … or Winnie the Poohing it (apparently, they can only wear a shirt or pants… Not both).

I don’t find my aversion to different scales all that limiting actually. Right now, I’m really loving and wanting ALL the Azones, the Jerry Berrys, the Rurukos, the Licca Chans, and a Red Berry Doll. In my next post, I will hopefully be able to show you progress on my Marshall Lee inspired hybrid.I kind of wish obitsu and azone came out with a grey skin option, as I’m not comfortable spray painting or dying plastic myself. I purchased the Obitsu Petite P Chan head in white skin, the Parabox eye decals, and an Army Painter Psycho paint brush (not featured) from Junkyspot. The body is the Pure Neemo Flection XS boy in white skin. That background is ironically just a random bit of scrapbook paper.

I hope the eye decals look good! 

Also, YAY it’s finally Friday!!

 

Leave a Reply

