The Would-be Trinity Stitch Cowl Hood

My intention was to make a cowl that could be pulled over the head and used as a hood. I wanted to try the trinity stitch, and winter is coming, so I thought a cowl hood would be perfect.   

The Trinity stitch is very easy! Your starting stitch must be a multiple of 4. Skip the first chain and Single crochet into chain 2. Then, you do a Single Crochet 3 Together using chain 2, 3, and 4. Chain one. Single crochet 3 together using chain 4, 5, and 6. Chain one. 

You keep doing SC3tog working into the stitch your last SC3tog ended on, and then you chain one. When you get to the last stitch, don’t chain 1 after the sc3tog. Instead, you single crochet into the last stitch. Chain two and turn.

Repeat for each row.

I hope my explanation was clear. If not, I really like New Stitch a Day for looking up new stitches. 

Sooooo, I kind of made the cowl too wide and my cat took a keen interest in what I was crocheting. I ended up making a mat/blanky for my kitty ^^.     

I really like trying new stitches! The trinity stitch was very easy once I got the hang of it. This stitch also has an interesting texture, and I was happy with the way the multicolored yarn made sort of a pattern of colors. 

I hope it keeps my baby warm during the winter ^^.

9 thoughts on “The Would-be Trinity Stitch Cowl Hood

    • 😄 in my house, everything can potentially become a thing for my cat. A pet peeve of mine is running out of a skein before the end of a project, but crocheting is awesome that way because I can always find a use for something i’ve made, even if it’s messed up. I have so many pot holders and coasters XD.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your cat looks very pleased with her new blanket :-). She’s lucky, it’s a beautiful stitch and yarn you used, it would have made a beautiful cowl, but it turned out as a lovely blanket!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

