Stash busting

IMG_5358.JPG

Behold! My WIP – a ripple blanket! Here is the pattern I’m using.

I’m quite happy with my progress with this blanket. It’s wide enough to cover a full sized bed, and when I’ve finished it, it should be big enough to cover the top of my bed. I’ve already worked through 2 partially used skeins, and I’m now working with a third skein. I’m pretty sure that the dark blue and the bright aqua blue I’m currently working with are Red Heart Super Saver yarns. I like using Red Heart Super Saver yarns for amigurumi because the yarn doesn’t stretch too much, and also they don’t get too fuzzy from being overhandled or overworked. I generally don’t like this yarn line for scarves or blankets though because I find the material itchy. I have seen some tutorials on how to soften this type of yarn with the use of a vinegar soak.

I’m really trying to work through my bin of yarn. It’s not so much that I’m trying to finish what I have to make way for new yarn, but that I’ve really accumulated a ton of yarn since I started crocheting. I find it kind of wild that it’s been about 2 years since I started crocheting, and I still find it very fun and rewarding to do. I feel a sense of pride being able to make clothes, accessories, or household items. This is a skill/hobby in which I can produce tangible goods that a majority of people in my life find value in, and the items often have utility.

😀 I think in my next post, I’ll share some photos of my yarn stash.

 

2 thoughts on “Stash busting

Leave a Reply

