Liebster Award

liebsteraward-roses-tag

Chrissy from Kicky Resin nominated me for the Liebster Award! I’ve seen this type of post on my WordPress reader, and I had been wanting to do it myself, so this is kind of exciting ^^. Thank you Chrissy!

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who presented you the award and link back to their blog.
  2. Post the award image on your blog.
  3. Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter.
  4. Nominate 5-11 blogs with less than 200 followers.
  5. Create 11 questions for the nominees to answer.
  6. List these rules in your post.
  7. Inform the people you chose of their nomination by leaving a comment on their blog and link them your post.

How did you get into the hobby?
Almost a year ago, I stumbled onto the Instagram of a friend of a friend. The Instagram featured Ever After High dolls (my gateway doll), beautifully photographed and strategically filtered, both in and out of their stock clothes. I then started to watch the actual show Ever After High, and youtube videos of vloggers who hunt for, debox, restyle, or repaint these dolls. These dolls had so much potential for fun, and they were pretty cheap so I didn’t have to think too hard about buying one. After getting my first doll, which was a C.A. Cupid, I did some more research on higher-end dolls. My search came back with three viable options: Blythe, Pullip, or BJD. At the time, the decision was really between whether I should get a Blythe or a Pullip, because BJDs were way out of my price range (at that point in time). In the end, Blythe dolls won my heart. My decision had to do a lot with the blogs, photos, and Youtube videos I combed through while trying to make up my mind. I noticed that the owners of Blythe dolls often named their girls, customized them, and gave them personalities. I also loved the range of expression on Blythe faces. Plus, that eye changing thing is pretty wild.

How many dolls do you have or plan to have?
I currently have four Blythe dolls. I am expecting my fifth doll in February, and I think I’ll be good for this year. Each of my girls are very special to me, and once my fifth girl comes, I think I can be happy with my family (for the time being).

What is your dream/grail doll?
This is tough because my wishlist is always changing. As of RIGHT THIS VERY SECOND, I would really love to add a BL to my collection – my favorite being Mondrian and Parco.

Is there a feature of a doll that will always win you over?
For stock dolls, I would have to say it is the complexion that wins me over. Translucent dolls seem super special to me, and in photos they seem to glow. It’s hard for me to pinpoint a feature of a custom doll that wins me over, because I need to love the whole face, and the combined aura it gives the doll, rather than an isolated feature. Custom dolls are super expensive too, so I have to love the doll absolutely in order to make that big of a purchase.

Do your dolls have their own personalities, stories, or universe?
My girls have personalities! Though sometimes a new trait pops up that I didn’t arbitrarily decide from the get-go. The girl’s personality is also largely dependent on how they look, so I guess they are their personalities personified. I haven’t thought of stories or universes for them. My dolls seem more like little house sprites that have taken residence on my shelf.

Do you prefer to buy things or make things for your dolls?
I prefer to make things, in an effort to be money-conscious (thrifty :-/). I definitely prefer the look of bought things though! I can’t really sew, so I make a ton of things by crocheting… but man, a whole outfit made of crocheted pieces looks so… “Home-sewn” or “Suzy Homemaker”, as Tim Gunn would say. I have definitely spent a lot on clothes in the past year I’ve been in the Blythe hobby, but I’m trying to be better about this.

Do you have a favorite brand or company for dolls, clothes, wigs, shoes, etc?
Blythe is my favorite doll brand. For clothes, I may have too many favorite stores to count, but I’ve made multiple purchases at Plastic Fashion and I intend to own more Button Arcade dresses. For shoes, nothing beats the fit of Takara Blythe stock shoes.

What is your favorite size of doll?
I like 1/6 scale dolls (surprise!). They’re portable, and there’s so much out there in the ways of clothes and shoes in that size.

Do you have a favorite doll in your collection?
This is a tough one… The girls I have are all special to me! I’ve also purged the dolls that I felt that I’ve outgrown or no longer fit in with my collection. To be quite honest, I may have to pick Rory as my favorite, atleast for now. She is a fake base Blythe that I have customized (my second time customizing a doll). I’m quite proud of the job I did on her, and after I completed her, I’ve come to terms with the fact that extensive customizing is not for me. She has had her face carved and repainted,  a set of chips changed, sleep eyes installed, boggled, gaze lifted, and a body transplant. She also received a not so great haircut, and I’m currently rooting a scalp for her. She truly feels like a doll I recreated. Since her hair is the most manageable, Rory is also the one I reach for the most to model my hats

What is more important, aesthetics or pose-ability? Or something else?
Aesthetics – my doll’s look and style has to inspire me, because a lot of how I participate in this hobby depends on my feeling inspired by my dolls. Their cuteness moves me to dress them up and figure out what clothes suit them, crochet accessories for them, photograph them, and blog about them. I don’t mind so much that their Takara bodies limit their pose-ability, but I depend on their little big faces to motivate me.

Where do you keep your dolls?
My dolls live on one of my top shelves that is built into the wall of my room. It’s out of reach of my cat (very important), and since it’s built into the wall and a bit high up, the dolls are away from the sunlight.

My Nominees:

Andddddd my questions!

  1. How did you get into the doll hobby
  2. What is your favorite brand of doll?
  3. Do your dolls share anything in common with one another?
  4. Do you have a Grail doll? If so, which one is it?
  5. Pick your favorite doll line – what attributes do you hope their next release will have?
  6. Have you learned a new craft because of being in the hobby?
  7. Who is your favorite doll in your collection?
  8. Who is your favorite customizer, face-up artist, or do you prefer your dolls completely stock or with the factory face-up?
  9. Who would you like to see your doll brand do a collaboration with?
  10. What doll related project do you hope to do in the future?
  11. How big of a role does blogging have for you in relation to this hobby?

I look forward to reading everyone’s responses, and of course, participating is completely optional!

 

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Blythe dolls were *almost* the doll that drew me in. I remember, some years ago (I think 2009), I saw a post in an AntiCraft forum about a woman that had re-rooted her Blythe doll with her own hair. At the time I thought this was extremely cool and had wanted to do it myself. But, between being broke and still in college at the time, nothing ever came of it and I’d forgotten all about it until recently.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

