Crochet in Miniature – Lace Skirt

Ravelry is an awesome resource for crocheters and knitters, especially when it comes to free patterns. I recently made a dress following this pattern, and while it is really pretty, I am not particularly fond of the silhouette for my girls. So I took only the skirt part of the pattern, and crocheted a bunch of lace skirts! I think the skirt definitely needs a slip or petticoat under it (because of all those holes), but I really like the effect! I think the skirt came out very feminine and delicate looking.

This is Marina’s Valentine’s Day themed outfit! She is wearing Stella Savannah’s stock blouse, a white slip skirt underneath the red crocheted skirt I made, white socks, and Les Jeunette stock high heel booties. I think the skirt goes really well with her red lips, and I think Marina might be too cool for pink.

I didn’t modify the pattern for the skirt at all, and I barely did anything special for the waist band part ^^. Essentially this is what I did:

  • Follow the pattern for the skirt as directed.
  • Follow these instructions for the pattern of the bodice:
    • Cast on as directed, making 25 single crochets (I work in US terms), which is the start of the waistband part.
    • Follow Row 5 – 7 to complete the waistband.
    • When I completed the last row of the waistband, instead of casting off, I turned my work and extended the waist band part length-wise to make room for a snap. (See “Back Button Flap” part of the pattern).
    • Finish the skirt as directed.

The skirt works up pretty easy and quickly! Also, don’t forget that the pattern is in UK terms!!

Disclaimer – The original pattern is not mine. It is called “Blythe Crochet Dress Pattern” by Sarah Youde. I simply altered it slightly to meet my needs. 

6 thoughts on “Crochet in Miniature – Lace Skirt

  1. Kung Hei Fat Choy! Wishing you all the best in the year of Monkey! =D

    Thanks for the pattern sharing! I lately have been in a ‘Cool Down’ period with Blythe but with this pattern I think it might help me to pick up the interest of Blythe ah =)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy lunar new year! I think it’s good to take a break every now and then. It’s always a happy occasion for me when I find a doll clothing crochet pattern, and I make it, and it comes out ok and crocheting it is relatively easy. Plus there’s that quick gratification when the piece is finished ^^

      Like

Leave a Reply

