The nameless little rabbit

The newest addition to my family has been laying patiently in his plastic wrap, waiting for a faceup, eyes, clothes, and a name. I’m going to wait until he’s all put together before naming him, but I’m leaning toward Tsukki right now, after Tsukushima from Haikyuu!! And a sort of play on words because Tsuki is the Japanese word for Moon, and in Japanese folklore a rabbit is said to live on the moon.

I got his eyes in the mail ^^, and I’m really happy with them (the dark blue ones were hard to photograph well). I’m not sure which pair I will end up giving him but I’m hoping he will look good with the taupe colored eyes because of the beautiful pattern. I haven’t tried the eyes on him yet because I have yet to pick up some silicone ear plugs from the drugstore for eye putty, and I want to do his face up first. I had planned on giving him a faceup this weekend, but weather.com is telling me that it’s going to rain on Saturday and snow on Sunday (unless this is an elaborate April fool’s joke… seriously, snow in April?).FullSizeRender (1).jpgI’m also working on this little guy’s wardrobe! After consulting hujoo owners on Facebook, extensive googling, and help from Iphis, I got a better idea of what size clothing will fit the Nano Rabi. Here are the places I found the most to pick from:

Mimiwoo – has a selection of Hujoo baby clothes
Etsy – Search Hujoo Baby,  Jun Planning Ai, Obitsu 11, and Kelly doll clothes
Ebay – Smaller selection than Etsy, but I’d still search the above key words.

I kind of wanted this little rabbit to look a bit dapper, like an Alice in Wonderland White Rabbit-in-training, but I guess this kind of style is hard to come by in a scale this small. I don’t really want to put him in a t-shirt, and I also don’t want to stick him in a dress, so I ended up combing the internet for knitting or crochet patterns. I’m quite happy with my handmade result!

I worked off of this specific pattern, but I modded it a bit. I’m thinking I might sell these sweaters in my store ^^.

Hopefully, the next time this guy makes an appearance on my blog, he’ll be more put together.

5 thoughts on “The nameless little rabbit

  1. I love haikyuuu! That is a great name 🙂 I name my cats in Japanese. Naming dolls is the hardest part for me. I can never decide or remember so my poor plastic kids wait sometimes for months without a name.
    I never saw a hujoo doll so I can’t tell how big it is but if it is ai doll size it is indeed pretty hard to find nice clothes for them. I need to make boy clothes for my ai doll who is a boy. I am pretty sure I can make pants (they are very easy to make). When I do I can send you a couple of pairs. Shirts are much harder.
    His little sweater is very cute! I am very curious what you will do with the face up. Will you paint his body ? The pink pads in his paws ? So exciting 🙂
    Maybe you can find second hand clothes from ai dolls? Caladium’s stock would look very cute on him 🙂 some Tuesday mornings have those dolls.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love sports anime XD (love sports anime, dislike actual sports). I was actually watching an episode of the second season when I thought that Tsukki might be a good name ^^. I think the hujoo nano feet make it a bit hard to put on long pants, but I haven’t found much in the ways of boy clothes overall. I’m so envious of people who can sew! I don’t have the mindset for it, and just how structural it is (with the patterns, cutting, lining up, measuring…).
      ^^ I think I will paint his paws pink! And I’m hoping I can do a clean job with his face (clean, even lines are so hard). I’m not sure how exactly it will look, but I think I want to keep his face up simple. I wish I had access to a Tuesday Morning! I’ve been randomly searching through eBay and etsy for new listings ^^.

      Like

      • i am in the same boat with sports anime, I love to watch sports anime , they all get me fired up but regular sports does not interest me neither actually doing any sports 🙂 I am amused by how much sports terminology I learn, completely willingly through these anime. I just finished the second season. now I need another one to fill the void. i might watch the whole series again.
        i see , so the feet a re a bit bigger than regular doll. yes that would make it harder. pink paws! so precious. good luck with face up, i am sure you’ll do a lovely job. also remember even our faces are not that symmetrical so it is ok to look a bit different. makes them look a bit more realistic.
        people get great groove dolls from tuesday morning but it seems in florida we are blessed with ai dolls. I found so many but resisted the urge. good luck with your search. i hope you find something you really like.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

