Balls of yarn

I did a not so good thing – I bought a skein of yarn from Michaels last weekend, even though I’m on a yarn no-buy and I’m trying to decrease my yarn stash. I’ve been in a bit of a knitting frenzy (knitting is so hard!), and the skeins I had weren’t inspiring me! I’ve been using the same balls of yarn for crocheting or knitting little doll items, and particularly for knitting, using the same colors just made me sad. 

The new yarn I purchased is the white skein on the far right (not sure the name of this brand). Look at how much I’ve used my other skeins! That blue one is close to being used up even! I noticed that with knitting, if I make a mistake, I completely rage quit the project. I immediately frog the entire thing, because I find fixing mistakes strangely difficult (maybe it’s because the yarn is so fine?). I’m definitely better at knitting this time around, compared to when I knitted as a child and again in college, so there’s that.

I also really dig this yarn. This one is Lion Brand Vanna’s Glamour yarn.

I also have a few rolls of crochet thread, some skeins of Cotton Fair yarn, and Patons Kroy sock yarn. I’ve made a huge dent in my stash in the past year, and I think I’ll continue at it before I purchase anything new.

img_0268
I tried a new pattern by Kimberly Kwon, sans the sleeves (sleeves are discouraging… I don’t even like crocheting in a round that small, so I doubt I’ll enjoy knitting it). I think the shape is quite cute! And I don’t have to sew snaps in the back. I’m taking Reese out with me this weekend, and I’m thinking I’ll put her in the blue top, with a dark grey tutu.

I’m definitely really slow at knitting, and when something is less than perfect, I’m apt to frogging the whole thing. But when I successfully complete a piece, I feel kind of proud that I made it to the end of the pattern and have added to my girls’ wardrobe.

6 thoughts on “Balls of yarn

    • Thank you!! ^^ I hope knitting becomes to me what crocheting is – something I can do to relax. But right now, it’s more like I’m determined to get better XD.

      Like

  1. I’m afraid I have a lot more yarn and thread than you. lol If I wasn’t a stay-at-home-mom I would a lot more though because I love to try different things and some projects just call for something you don’t have. 😀
    I love how those little tops look super cute! I finally made a little sweater with sleeves in crochet but it still looks chunky, specially compared to your tops!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! I wish I had more colors and patterned yarn in my stash. One day… I will own a whole wall of yarn XD. I also had trouble with the same thing when I crocheted, also when the item gets that tiny, there’s very little give to the stitches.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

