Birthday blues

I’ve been suffering from the birthday blues for about two weeks. I recently hit one of those big birthdays, and I guess it’s a combination of feeling like time is passing too quickly and feeling like I haven’t done much with the time I’ved lived. 

And instead of motivating me to get my life together, I’ve fallen back to old habits. I find when I’m bummed, I resort to rewatching shows from my childhood. In the depths of my depression four years ago, I marathoned all of Xena and Hercules (because I love crossovers, mythology, and campy goodness). Right now, I’m marathoning Dragonball (dubbed) and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I think it’s because while I remember the general storylines, I don’t remember most of the details. There’s an element of familiarity, but I’m still entertained.

I haven’t done much with my dolls or with yarn lately. It’s been raining a ton recently and my kitten pretty much can’t control herself around string, so no doll activities or crocheting/knitting. The only thing that has been up with me and my girls is that I’ve sold two dolls and I’m expecting two incoming girls ^^. 

I’ve sold my obitsu/picco neemo hybrid – I just didn’t enjoy the tiny scale. I’m also in the process of selling Elowyn, my Cherie Babette – even after a year, I still wasn’t sure how I felt about her. I think it might be her coloring. She might look better with a different scalp, but since translucent faceplates are pretty fragile, i really didn’t want to risk causing cracks to the plates during the opening process. 

As for incoming dolls, ^^ I’m expecting a new customized girl! I sent my Hi-Ho Marine away to Jannette of Project Dollhouse, and I think she’s coming back soon. I also am adopting Jann’s Jerryberry basic!! 😮 If I recall correctly, a jerryberry was on my New Years doll goals! … also I really wanted to treat myself for my birthday >_<. 

Very wordy, I know. 

This brings my current doll count to: 4 Liccas and 5 blythes (with a Jerry Berry and another Blythe on the way). 

One more thing, I breathed new life into my custom Licca.

I cut her bangs a bit! I much prefer her with the shorter fringe. Her hair was cut oddly, where she had two long pieces (one on either side), that awkwardly covered her face. I decided to name her Wren – my Licca chan who loves wearing shades of brown.

Tomorrow also will be a non-hobby day. Maybe at the very least, I can redress my dolls.

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday blues

  1. I’m sorry you’ve been feeling this way! I definitely identify with that feeling, though, as I’ve had a bit of ennui myself this winter. I know that part of it for me is not seeing the sun for periods of time (here in Mid-Michigan we can go weeks on end without any direct sunlight as it’s often overcast most of the winter) and lacking vitamin D. I have been playing way too much Stardew Valley instead of actually doing things! But we got some sun yesterday and today and I feel like I’m coming out of a funk. I hope you feel that emergence soon as well! I love the trim you did on Wren’s bangs – they suit her perfectly now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yeah… even in supposedly sunny California, we’ve been getting a lot of rain recently. I played Stardew Valley for a while too! There is something relaxing about the repetition, and when you stumble onto something new (like a cutscenes or new dialogue), it’s exciting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

